The International Independent Music Video Awards seeks to elevate independent artists and labels in all genres and at all levels by recognizing their achievements in music videos.

Winners are selected by a combination of fan voting and a judges panel comprised of music industry and music media professionals. Up to 300 artists will be nominated for an award. Up to 60 nominees will advance to the final round. 24 winners will be selected. In each category, judges will select a category winner and a Fan Favorite will be selected by fan voting. Additionally, an overall Fan Favorite and Video of the Year will be named.

The 2020 IIMVAs

In 2020 the IIMVA judges and guest award presenters (virtual of course) included a range of industry professionals. The best known are probably Vans Warped Tour founder Kevin Lyman and Jackie Jackson (The Jackson 5, The Jacksons).

2020 Hip Hop Winners, Gold Lemonade with the legendary Jackie Jackson

2020 IIMVA nominees ranged from bands together less than a year to Grammy nominees and even a member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. More than 10,000 fan votes were cast in 2020. Category and Video of the Year awards are based purely on quality of the video and the music. Anyone independent artist can win! Artists must be unsigned or on an independent label (not major label owned).